545,780 active members*
2,244 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > Chinese Machines > Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    48

    Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    I'm about to build a computer to run my CNC machine that will be arriving soon but there is so little information out there on NCStudio that I wanted to check if anyone knew the answer?

    I have Windows 8 and Windows 7 I can install. I also assume the more memory and better the graphics card the better the machine will handle any of the software I'll be running?

    Also any other tips would be appreciated (and yes I may switch to Mach3 later but that's not the way I went to start).

    Chris

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19
    I am running it on Windows 8 with no issues.

    Cheers

    Ken

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    48
    Thanks, that's good to know. Have it built and just need to do the installation.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dbl_Tap View Post
    Thanks, that's good to know. Have it built and just need to do the installation.
    Hey!
    Were you able to run NCStudio with Win7 x64?
    I have WinXP SP3 x86 but I want to switch to Win7 now.

    Max

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Quote Originally Posted by MAVEN05 View Post
    Hey!
    Were you able to run NCStudio with Win7 x64?
    I have WinXP SP3 x86 but I want to switch to Win7 now.

    Max
    I honestly don't remember what OS I was using when I had the issues with my machine and NCStudio but I will tell you the one that came with it was an illegal copy that was several years/generations old so I bet an actual licensed copy would work on Windows 7 or even 8.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Hi,
    I was able to run NcStudio on Windows 7 32 bit.
    It didn't work on Win7 64 bit because of some drivers were incompatible for the card didn't work but under 32 bit everything works just fine.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    314

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Well, XP no problem,most manufactures test machines with XP actually and XP is recommended for customer.
    Win7 32 bits also work on with actual license copy. 64bit is hard. Anybody here succeed by 64 bits here ?
    Best regards,
    Ms.Mary

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Quote Originally Posted by EXLASer View Post
    Well, XP no problem,most manufactures test machines with XP actually and XP is recommended for customer.
    Win7 32 bits also work on with actual license copy. 64bit is hard. Anybody here succeed by 64 bits here ?
    Best regards,
    Ms.Mary
    You see Ms.Mary
    I already said that Win7 x86 everything works well.
    Was not able to run NcStudio on Win7 x64.
    So if you want to run NcStudio on Windows 7, you should have Windows 7 32bit (x86).
    I heard that NcStudio works also on Windows 8 but I have not tested that myself so i cannot tell anything from my own experience.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    168

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    On the basis of a current extensive search, I conclude:
    * only 32-bit versions of Windows (Win 7, 8, etc. bear testing; 64-bit versions don't bother to test)
    * 64-bit Windows 7 does not even detect the PCI card
    * Windows 7 (for sure) and probably later "block" conventional install of INF driver files, but allow for "Legacy" install of hardware in Device Manager (right-click computer, add legacy hardware, find and select INF file--unsuccessful for me because my Win 7 is 64-bit)

    Incidentally,
    * no good to try installing, say, WinXP, and testing NCstudio install in a VirtualBox virtual machine in 32-bit RTAI version of Ubuntu (which LinuxCNC users will recognize as required for that app) because VirtualBox requires libraries incompatible with RTAI (interface to a PCI card and timing issues are likely to be problematic anyway from a VM)
    --
    Dan

  10. #10
    Vornphe
    Guest

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Hi Ken,

    Could you please help to me to guide the setup in window 8?

    Thanks,
    Vorn

  11. #11

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Windows 7 32 bit is best now.


    Andy
    UnionTech CNC

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    18

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dbl_Tap View Post
    I'm about to build a computer to run my CNC machine that will be arriving soon but there is so little information out there on NCStudio that I wanted to check if anyone knew the answer?

    I have Windows 8 and Windows 7 I can install GBWhatsApp. I also assume the more memory and better the graphics card the better the machine will handle any of the software I'll be running?

    Also any other tips would be appreciated (and yes I may switch to Mach3 later but that's not the way I went to start).

    Chris
    You will need to upgrade your computer's operating system to Windows 7 64-bit, Windows 8.1 64-bit or Windows 10 64-bit in order to install Autodesk ArtCAM software.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    1

    Re: Which version of Windows will NCStudio work on?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dbl_Tap View Post
    I'm about to build a computer to run my CNC machine that will be arriving soon but there is so little information out there on NCStudio that I wanted to check if anyone knew the answer?

    I have Windows 8 and Windows 7 I can install YoInstagram APK MOD . I also assume the more memory and better the graphics card the better the machine will handle any of the software I'll be running?

    Also any other tips would be appreciated (and yes I may switch to Mach3 later but that's not the way I went to start).

    Chris
    I'm running it on Windows 8 and 10 and never faced any issue.

Similar Threads

  1. Ncstudio Upgraded Version V5.5.60 (ENGLISH)
    By EXLASer in forum Commercial CNC Wood Routers
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-25-2019, 07:15 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 07:51 PM
  3. CNC Seron-1325 and NcStudio AD version 5.4.53 Engraving Software
    By clarenceassey in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 07:45 PM
  4. Which version of Windows 7 with Rhino 3?
    By ddgman2001 in forum Rhino 3D
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 09:43 AM
  5. Mastercam version 17 and windows 7
    By cncwhiz in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 09:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •