587,256 active members*
3,067 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Would counterbalancing the Z be beneficial in any way?
Page 1 of 2 12

Would counterbalancing the Z be beneficial in any way?

So the Z axis along with the head, spindle, and motor, weigh a bunch. That's extra effort for the Z motor to move against gravity. Would hanging a counterweight provide any benefits?

Quote Originally Posted by mrquacker View Post
    So the Z axis along with the head, spindle, and motor, weigh a bunch. That's extra effort for the Z motor to move against gravity. Would hanging a counterweight provide any benefits?
    I'm not a mechanical engineer, or a machine designer, so take this with a grain of salt. Seems to me that a problem with doing that is that a sufficiently large counterweight would cause the head/counterweight/cable to act as if it were two weights separated by a spring. When one is aiming for both precision and accuracy in the range of thousandths of an inch, extra bounciness is probably a bad thing. Counterweights work well in elevators and (presumably) minimize power use. In a machine tool, the power saving is likely outweighed by the additional cost and complexity, if not the effect on accuracy and precision.

I don't own a Tormach, but some form of Z axis support can equalize the load on the Z motor. Meaning it takes some of the weight off lifting every time, but adds some of that to lowering each time. From a mechanical standpoint, I think that is a better situation for all the parts involved.

On the mill I built, I chose to go with a gas strut that is rated at probably 1/3rd the weight of Z. This has proved to be sufficient and effective.
    Lee