5,068 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: XZero CNC

Page 208 of 226 108158198206207208209210218
Results 4,141 to 4,160 of 4515

Re: XZero CNC

Quote Originally Posted by JohninOttawa View Post
    Thank you for finding that info. As I have no experience with a rotary axis (precious little with the primary 3), let me ask a newbie question: If I want the level of precision that we see in the videos, what is really required? Can a Chinese ebay unit with a harmonic drive, say, deliver what the parker/daedal combination did in the video? I realise there will be a difference, but at what level of precision does that difference start to show? Is precision mostly lost in the table/rotary head, or in the motor and coupling?

Thanks again
    John
    actually the chinese harmonic drive units (which are used japanese reduction boxes in a cheap aluminium housing) are in theory much better than the parker tables for this application as they have near zero backlash, but they are mostly very small, and not very powerful. fine for cue, not so good for large pieces. there are some larger ones that are much stronger, but they also cost a lot more.

you can also just buy a used drive box and build your own, but that requires you to have a fairly precise mill and possibly a lathe.

keep in mine that NEW these little gearboxes are extremely expensive. these chinese companies must have found a big surplus stash of used ones.

- - - Updated - - -

Quote Originally Posted by podarok View Post
    That is really perfect. Well done!
    Do you have any plans to make it in black, for better reading?

Надіслано від мого M6Pro, використовуючи Tapatalk
    i dont think the guy who made the video is on this forum.

Thank you for this info, good intel on the relative power of the units. If you were to guess, would you place the power limitation on the motor or the gearbox? If it's the motor, how much trouble can I get into if I try to upgrade?

Thanks again

John