544,051 active members*
1,908 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    HI


    OH Dear!


    Luckily im just setting up, praticing and learning CNC


    Ive gotten so far but im stuck on this


    Highlighted in Pink was my 4th Pass using ASPIRE Then to G Code using Mach 3

    The 4th Pass went well off to the Left! and ruined my test peace!

    The 1,2 and 3rd passes all went okay highlighted in black


    Does any one know why the 4th pass decided to start off at a different position?


    many thanks, and appreciate any help given


    adam

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    oh man

    Never had so much hassel attaching an image to a forum (chair)

  3. #3
    Community Moderator difalkner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    697

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Click on Go Advanced at the bottom of the text window and scroll down to Manage Attachments (or just click on the Paper Clip icon). From there browse to your photo(s). Hit the Paper Clip dropdown to insert the photo(s) where you want them in your text.
    David
    Romans 3:23
    Etsy shop opened 12/1/17 - CurlyWoodShop

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    attached is the image!!


    thanks too difalkner
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC02944.jpg  

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1387

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    I would run the program again this time doing an air cut, no wood or anything. Single step the program and put a piece of paper on your machine and mark where the cutter moves. When u get to the forth pass you should see it move the machine in the wrong position. You can also run the gcode on a simulator which you can download for free and determine if the gcode is correct

    Russ

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Thanks Russ(wedge)


    But running it again doesnt answer why it did this

    Anyone else have any ideas please?

    I will try some new G Codes etc

    But it would be handy too see why it did it in the first place

    adam

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    456

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    I would assume that the problem isn’t coming from Aspire. You can simulate the cut in Aspire.
    Two things would cause this from the machine. Stepper looses steps or stepper shaft not tight.
    Why those aren’t issues is they happen under load not between passes.
    So my guess is that Aspire is sending some code that your controller doesn’t understand
    I’d start removing lines of code and see what happens. Also try a simple shape like a square. Or code it by hand. Have fun, it’s a good way to learn.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Stepper looses steps or stepper shaft not tight.what is that? and how does it loose steps?

    My thoughts were

    It could be the way i saved the G-Code in Aspire? as there is sevral options

    It looses steps, but not sure how that happens

    Saying this i was hoping someone elese has had this happen to them before

    Today i will try more new shaps, and texts

    and will update

    But always handy to know 100% how it happened


    Thanks for the input guys , cheers

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    196

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Start a process of elimination to find the problem. Use a gcode viewer to look at your code first. I use https://ncviewer.com/ but there are plenty to choose from. It will tell you if it is your machine or the gcode.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Sadly happened again!

    I saved as G Code Mach 3

    and even on my first cut it went haywire!

    I then said lets try no G Code and a straight cut using my keyboard

    I pressed the arrow key firmly and it will move perfectly >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Then it just stopped!

    so tried a few times it will move using the keyboard arrow key so much then it just stops!

    This is making me think its hardware issues somewhere?:drowning::drowning:

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    The Y Axis in MACH3 Was ticked and the X wasnt! in DIR LOW Active

    i just unticked it, dont think that would of helped any as the X wasnt ticked

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    196

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Calm down, these are simple machines. First off, you need to be methodical in your approach. Try jogging each axis in turn to see if that works OK. Does it stop in the same location? On the one(s) that fail, disconnect the motor and move it by hand to see if there is any binding. (that's my guess but you've presented zero info about your machine...) If it is a dual motor moving gantry, maybe it racks?

    But before anything else, make sure everything is tightened up. Even if it seems solid, even a small amount of slop can cause problems.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine


  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Thats a great reply, thanks philba i had it working last year must be something simples

    But will try that now!

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1387

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    This appears to be binding in your machine. You can so some simple gcode commands on your machines, such as follows:
    First home your machine, did it get home successfully?
    Now in your MDI entry, type
    G1 X5 F50 does it move to the right five inches?
    G1 Y5 F50 does it move in the Y direction five inches?

    With the machine powered down can you move the X and Y axis smoothly? You could have a loose coupler from the stepper motor to the ballscrew or leadscrew.

    Post a picture of your machine.

    Russ

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    DSC02948.jpgDSC02947.jpg
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC02947.jpg   DSC02948.jpg  

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    OH GOSH

    so

    Ive just tried


    A new postition on the CNC Table with a basic llines to be cut, 1st cut went okay then half way through the second cut it went way off and again and just stopped/paused!

    So i then

    Stopped the G Code and Closed the g code

    Then being safe i switched on the router and then

    Pressed the page UP To left the Z AXIS UP

    And guess what THE Z AXIS

    SPUN UP MEGA FAST! Faster than ever, dangerously fast until it was spinning round the shaft as couldnt go up higher, so i switched the hole thing off


    I wonder what it is? Im thinking its something to do with my NVUM USB Controller from CHINA?

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Thanks everyone i really appreciate all your inputs, Thanks to each and everyone who is replying


    The smiling face on the Plywood was made last year and worked ok

    I have just moved all Axis by hand with the machine off, its a bit stiff but moves okay!

    Ive still to try the MIDI Entry

    Its weird how it cuts okay for the first 1-2 passes! then goes bad on me on the 2-3rd pass

    Thats why i think its not the actual Machine guides or Nemas etc as it makes the first line okay

    Im thinking its maybe

    How i save the G Code?

    The Chinese NVUM Cntroller via USB to my PC

    Possibly the G code itself but i doubt that!

    Then how did the Z Axis shot up so FAST Like suddenly speed up real fast hasnt done that before!

    Dangerous i want to get it fully working 100% make some things then sell it when i can confindetially sell it!

    Then i will build a newer smaller one for myself from scratch


    • Adam

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    49

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    better image of panel

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC02951.jpg  

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    196

    Re: 4TH Pass on G Code is way off on my CNC Machine

    Quote Originally Posted by CNCMAN172 View Post
    This appears to be binding in your machine.
    Agreed but I think our friend is all over the map. It probably is binding though it appears to be a low end Chinese machine so probably needs a full round of tightening and such. It may not have been assembled exactly to spec either.

    Adam: stop what you are doing and focus on one issue - binding. Try what Russ (and I) suggested. Try to figure out if each axis works correctly. Verify each axis in turn.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. 3d cnc wood carving machine 1500*3000 4th Axis cnc 3d machine
    By BlueElephantCNC in forum Blue Elephant CNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2020, 11:07 AM
  2. How to delete a full pass in g-code
    By bivegele in forum Uncategorised WoodWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2020, 10:30 AM
  3. 4th axis cnc router machine BKM1325 from Baokun cnc company
    By Elissa in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-24-2019, 09:15 AM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-19-2014, 05:55 AM
  5. g code - invert X axis after one pass...
    By dodman in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2013, 09:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •