587,193 active members*
2,741 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > DIY build ??wiring Nema 34 (6 wire Vexta) motor "half coil"...is inductance the same?

DIY build ??wiring Nema 34 (6 wire Vexta) motor "half coil"...is inductance the same?

Hi,

Newbie here with a stepper motor question.

I have 2 Vexta Nema 34 (Unipolar 6 wire) motors that I would like to connect to a Gecko G540 using the "half coil" method.

The voltage/amp/inductance ratings appear to be within the G540 guidelines

I can't run them full coil, since the inductance is way too high (24)

I planned on using them for my dual Y ballscrew axis...so the loss of torque will be acceptable.

Has anyone had any experience with this?

Any advice is appreciated :-)

according to the Oriental motors website...it looks like the all the Unipolar specifications are exactly the same as half coil configuration.

I've been researching this for a while already...I really want to run the G540

link:

Customer Service and Technical Support

I'm really hoping to use these motors...(budget constraints)

Holding Torque
    Bipolar (Series) 880 oz-in
    Unipolar 620 oz-in

Connection Type
    Bipolar (Series)
    Unipolar

Current per Phase (A/phase)
    2.1 [Bipolar (Series)]
    3 [Unipolar]

Lead Wires 6

Voltage (VDC)
    6 [Bipolar (Series)]
    4.2 [Unipolar]

Resistance (Ω/phase)
    3 [Bipolar (Series)]
    1.5 [Unipolar]

Inductance (mH/phase)
    24 [Bipolar (Series)]
    6 [Unipolar]

They are Heavy duty steppers, and planned on using them for my DIY Router/Mill build (Machine 75% done)

I picked them up a few months ago (local surplus), and would really like to use them...if it's realistic.

Machine build (28x32 cutting area)
    THK HSR35 rails for X,Y,
    dual NSK ballscrews for Y.
    NSK screw & THK SHS25 for Z (haven't assembled the Z yet)

Rest of machine is built out of 1/2" aluminum plate & extrusion (very heavy/sturdy)