587,481 active members*
3,180 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Face mill

Face mill

As a turner, I'm a bit out of my depth when it comes to milling, but as I'm also a model engineer, I need to get up to speed!

I'm converting my bridgeport clone to CNC, and I'm moving in to tipped cutters. I've been offered a new 50mm face mill for a very nice price, but I don't want to jump in and buy it if it turns out I can only buy one manufacturers tips for it. At work, we only buy tools where we have a choice of manufacturers, so we can buy the cheapest tips avaliable at the time of ordering, regardless of maker.

The tips it takes are MITSUBISHI APMT1604, is there an equiviliant to this? The closest I've found so far are taguetec APKT's, but no proof of whether they're the same. Can any one shed any light?

Thanks

Ed

If CHEAP is your criteria...
    Why should I waste my time giving valuable advice based on years of production experience?

Go buy your cheap tools. We'll be waiting for your entertaining subsequent posts asking why your tools aren't lasting very long, the finish is lousy, the dimensions are all over the place.....

I love laughing at guys like you.

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by fizzissist View Post
    If CHEAP is your criteria...
    Why should I waste my time giving valuable advice based on years of production experience?

Go buy your cheap tools. We'll be waiting for your entertaining subsequent posts asking why your tools aren't lasting very long, the finish is lousy, the dimensions are all over the place.....

I love laughing at guys like you.