587,884 active members*
3,675 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Face Mill?

Page 1 of 2 12

Face Mill?

Hi all.

I'm considering a face mill as I'd like a tts indexable tool (vs. a fly cutter which I have), but the Tormach one seems pretty expensive considering its probably just a chinese one. Are they a standard size so I could get a different brand, but use the TTS holder? Any recommendations? I guess I could use a fly cutter, but would rather have something repeatable. Admittedly, I have very little experience here, but this is for aluminum - Thinking something like this? http://www.shars.com/products/view/7...ace_Shell_Mill

TIA...

Face mill

The 2.5 inch five cutter from Glacern, but get a 3/4 arbor. Takes the same insert the Tormach flycutter does. 99 bucks.

http://www.glacern.com/fm45

2.5 inches is a little big for the Tormach according to some comments here, but works fine for me- it just hums. I actually have the R8 integral arbor, which may be a bit stiffer than a 3/4 one, so bear in mind I'm extrapolating.

You won't go wrong with Glacern - they are really first-rate. Plenty of people are also happy with the ones from Shars. And facemill with a 3/4" straight shank can be used with TTS. I'd recommend a 45-degree facemill for aluminum - they leave a gorgeous finish. The facemill itself is fairly cheap, it's the inserts that are expensive.

Regards,
    Ray L.

I'm using the 2.5" 45 degree facemill from Shars, with the straight shank 3/4" arbor. I had to cut down the shank and add a small chamfer. Cut great.

PM-45 CNC conversion built/run/sold.

I use a 3.0" Iscar purchased from US Shop Tools. Works great and the inserts were reasonbly priced.
    www.WebMachinist.Net
    The Ultimate Online Source for Machinist Related Stuff!