588,126 active members*
4,634 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Motors Won't Turn But Make Noise

Newbie here.
    I bought a kit on ebay just like this one :violin: ...
    Wholesale cnc kits 3axis Nema 23 Stepper Geared Motor with 15:1 Gear Ratio252oz in/0.6A

I'm pretty sure I have it wired correctly. I have used a parport tester to send signals to the controllers and I can get the motors to make humming and squeally noises but the motors won't turn. Can someone help? :drowning:

looking at the info for your kit
    the motor has two centre tapped windings of 20 ohms
    with the centre taps not connected (ie using all the windings)
    with a 24v supply this gives you a maximum motor current of 24/20=1.2A
    no matter what setting over 1.2A on the driver
    the lowest current setting available is 1A but this drops to 60% when idle = 0.6 A

if the wiring is correct in so far one winding is connected to terminals A+ and A-
    and the other to B+ and B-
    try reversing the connections to one winding

John

Thank you John

I did try reversing the wiring for the motors as one of my tests but still no joy. The motors still tease me with hums and squeals. I may be able to use them as a musical instrument but I would really like to use them for CNC. I appreciate you help John and I hope you don't take my attempt at humor the wrong way. I just finished drawing my wiring in Visio and have attached a jpeg of it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails cnc1_21DEC2010.jpg  

apart from the missing direction signal to the Z axis
    the diagram looks like i'd expect

just in case its some thing funny with your test signals
    too narrow pulses ?

try the circuit on the Gecko website

http://www.geckodrive.com/upload/STPDIRTester.pdf

can't think of any thing more at the moment

John

Thank you

Thank you John