587,833 active members*
3,702 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Powermaster Down..HELP!!

Dear all, this is my first time here and currently m having a problem with my mazak powermaster 1600. The controller is Meldas L1. When the machine's running on auto mode, it will stop moving at G1 X...F... or at any point with G1 code. If its in dry run mode, the machine will complete the entire cycle.
    There is nothing wrong when i change G1 to G0.

I'm suspecting the spindle feedback to nc side not complete. I don't have any wiring diagram for this as the original machine comes with DC motor but has been retrofit with a Fuji Electric inverter n AC motor.

Anyone has any idea how i can troubleshoot the problem?

Thanks in advance.

Crow,

You are exactly right in reference to the spindle feedback being the problem. You need to locate the spindle encoder which is most likely driven by a belt with this old of an machine. The cable for this should be connect to the main mother board which should be a LX1 PCB with a smaller PCB mounted on top of it. Be careful not to mess with the smaller PCB to much. This is your main s/w card. It also houses the parameters and your programs too. There is a battery wire connected to it too. The cable your looking for should be labled CNA1. CNA1 is located on the bottom left hand side. Should be a 20 pin honda connector. This is if your LX1 is mounted length wise left to right. This main pcb is about 24 inched long by 12 inches wide.

There are test points pin 8 and pin 9 which are for PA & PB respectively. Pin 7 is PC. 1 pulse/rev for threading. You will need to hook a scope up to read these points by sign wave. One pulse/rev. for PC maybe hard to see.

Hope this helps.

Good Luck.

Chippy: Thanks for the info you've given. I have tried to plug out the CNA1 cable from the pcb board n the encoder side only to find out the original encoder is no longer being used.