587,203 active members*
3,283 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Recomendation for 'Basic' CAM program

Recomendation for 'Basic' CAM program

Hi everyone,

Hve put together a CNC router using a Old parts from a Newport kliner scanning system that my employers were scrapping about a year ago now... so far i have managed to wrte a very basic program to control it but was wondering if there was any of the shelf programs that will interface with the Newport M4005 controllers.

I am a total newbee to the whole DIY router sceen but seen a few clips on youtube of thing peopl have made so took the oppertunity when the linier slides, rotation stages and controllers became availible to start my own project.

if anyone has any knowlage of this particular system or of CAM programes that will interface with the controller pretty much hassel free i would be greatful for the advice and help.

Quote Originally Posted by gambit101 View Post

if anyone has any knowlage of this particular system or of CAM programes that will interface with the controller pretty much hassel free i would be greatful for the advice and help.
    ROFLMAO!!!!

"..pretty much hassel free..." Love it.
    Easy to recognize, it's the one the unicorn delivers.

You might consider VisualMill

Mecsoft (the manufacturer) has a standing offer to configure a post-processor to deal with any odd system a customer's got, if it's not on their extensive list of posts already. Assuming that this controller of yours is capable of interpreting g-code of some sort, it shouldn't be too hard to get something to work. Do you have the specifications for the Newton M4005? That would doubtless help...

Andrew Werby
    ComputerSculpture.com — Home Page for Discount Hardware & Software

fizzissist stated: "ROFLMAO!!!!

"..pretty much hassel free..."
    Love it.
    Easy to recognize, it's the one the unicorn delivers."

Absolutely priceless!!!!