584,817 active members*
5,264 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Help - Scanned outline to part

Help - Scanned outline to part

Hello,

I am just completing the build of a CNC router table, so I am a real newbie. I am no stranger to software, but new to CAM. I have purchased Mach 3 and Cambam on a recommendation.

I have a need to take a piece of cardboard or paper that is the exact cutout of a part, scan it into the computer, and have it cut out a 2D part following that outline. Material is like 1/4 inch plywood, etc. I have a lot of these to do, so the process needs to be as simple as possible.

I have tried 1. cleaning the scan up in Photoshop, 2. rasterizing it with Illustrator and exporting it to dxf, 3. then importing it into Cambam, and 4. converting everything to polylines.

This seems clumsy, error prone and problematic because I have to take it to a friend who has the Photoshop suite as I do not have it. I've tried Lazycam (came with Cambam) but I can't seem to get it to do anything useful.

Can someone recommend a better, simpler way to do this? If suggesting new software, could you describe the steps, and the cost of the software? (Price is important here.)

TIA,

Hello,
    Is each one you need to do different than the first one? In other words you will need to scan each one and do the whole process each time?
    I have had good luck with scans of both the profiles of the part traced onto the cardboard and of the actual profile of the cardboard edge, but I think the lines may provide a better vector when scanned. The less work you need to do after scanning the better. The scanning usually works good but if the software is allowed to trace the image it will probably throw a lot of misc. garbage into the trace that will need to be edited out. Sometimes you can manually trace the lines and end up with a cleaner finished .dxf than if you leave it up to the software.