587,998 active members*
1,715 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Rhino 3D > Super quick question Please help.

Hybrid View

Super quick question Please help.

OK so i've been working with Rhino for about 6 months and machining things will good results. Now I'm at the critical stage and I've machined some holes that came out very hexagon looking. Well I realized that the tolerance settings in Options and when I create the tool path were at .01. SO i did a test with a new circle at the old settings and one with settings at tolerance in options and toolpath at .0001. THe circle came out perfect. So HERE'S the question...

If I change the tolerance levels in the OPTIONS and on each toolpath to .0001 and regenerate the toolpath the models I've already made will be fine???? I don't have to redraw everything??? Thanks.

Changing the absolute tolerance settings applies forward from that point. It doesn't go back and change geometry, surfaces etc that have already been made. Not sure where your hexagons are coming from. A circle at low tolerance is still a circle. If it was an extracted edge of a surface made at low tolerance perhaps. Maybe your cam is using the Rhino tolerance for what it does so maybe just changing that will help. Be suspicous of trims; check intersections with the analyze>curve>geometric continuity tool. Recreate any really critical surfaces.

Hi,

What CAM are you using? If you make circles in Rhino, they are mathematically perfect NURBS circles no matter what your absolute tolerances are set at. The "hexagon" stuff has to be coming from either your CAM program, or how you are exporting the geometry to your CAM. If you give us more info we can probably help you further... --ch