588,206 active members*
4,304 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Tapping

Tapping

Can anybody tell me how to set up the tapping properly.
    I've been using it for a couple of years now and always go into the program and "fix up" the tapping.
    I've tried all sorts of things to make it output the tapping correctly and can't seem to get it.
    The software is great and we love it, but would like to resolve this tapping concern.
    Thanks in advance

Greig

Greig,

The tapping cycle is fully configurable. Can you supply a line of code the way it is doing it now and then a line of code the way you want to see it?
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks Don. It seems OK except we keep getting EF in the feed rate....So we have to go in and manually change the feed rate. I've tried everything to make it output the correct feedrate but can't.
    Can you advise me further on this please....It will be something simple I'm sure.

by the way...what's new in the latest version?...Everything works great for what we're doing although I had a couple of small isses with 3D stuff.

Greig

Greig,

Look at the post...In the Canned Cycles section, pulldown the cycle list and select the tapping cycle. There is a macro line for the tapping cycle. You will probably see part of the macro with something like this..."E";NC_FEED$

The semi colon in BASIC joins the 2 strings together. NC_FEED$ is already a formatted word with an "F" as its prefix...You can simply delete the "E";

Then save your post and regenerate the macro file.

There will be an exciting new product announcement coming this month...stay tuned!
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

we tried that. unfortunately all it did was remove the E from the line.
    It doesn't multiply the speed by the pitch to give us the correct feed....