587,174 active members*
4,151 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > why pulse the servo drive? (why not ASCII/binary it?)

why pulse the servo drive? (why not ASCII/binary it?)

Hi,

I pursue robotics as hobby and these days there are 32-bit motor controllers that operate in 10+ MHz refresh rate that can perform amazing number of PID calculations per sec and this type of controllers can drive DC motor at very high rpm while maintaining tight speed regulation.

Back to CNC, the cnc servo drive and controller combo I know is gecko g320/g340(drive) and Mach(controller) and no more (sorry I'm new to cnc)
    Anyways because Mach is limited to 48000 pulse/sec due to computer's motherboard clockspeed, high speed operation is difficult even with drive-side pulse multiplier (and pulse multiplier is not a good thing since it will multiply PID error too)

So why not a cnc software that output ASCII commands? You know, software just sends out ASCII commands to make blabla number of steps in blabla pulse rate, then the drive's microcontroller performs the move accordingly. In other words, forget sending pulse at all because the controller sending out pulse is simply "a way" to give out message of step direction and rate, so replace it "ASCII way".
    In this way, 48000 pulse/sec limitation is easily overcome and higher rpm will be possible.
    Any drive equiped with 10 MHz 32 bit microcontroller will be capable of producing much higher PID refrash rate than needed for 48000 pulse/sec hence will be able to control the motor at much higher rate, which will result in not only an operability at higher rpm but also smoother rotation of motor(fully utilze high resolution of the encoder).

Anyone aware of such cnc software or standalone controller that put out ASCII(or binary) command?
    Anyone aware of inexpensive servo drive that will accept such ASCII commands?
    I guess it has to be a controller+drive combo.