587,118 active members*
2,801 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > X3/SX3/G0619/G0463 > X3 CNC Conversion- the new red-headed-step-child
Page 1 of 7 123

X3 CNC Conversion- the new red-headed-step-child

Conversion Info

I am starting my conversion on a 6 month old Grizzly G0463 X3 Manual Mill using CNC Fusion deluxe kit with Heli-cal couplers, keling 381oz and 906oz stepper motors and Gecko G540. Just another copy of the already established combination so well outlined here on CNC Zone.

The Goal

Complete the entire conversion and have it dialed in making parts in less than one month in just a few hours a night and slighly more on the weekends using the knowlege and assistance of the CNC Zone users by bribing them with a photo-filled build thread to waste time viewing at work :cheers:

My Background boring... skip this section

I am a wheelchair technician during the day providing and repairing custom rehab power and manual chairs for the disabled in southern California. I LOVE motorcycles and started making my own parts on a drill press and bandsaw at work last year... until I got frustrated and bought an X3.

With no intent of being a job-shop I immediately had people pushing work on me and have been very fortunate to get in on some great opportunities. To date the mill has paid for itself and a darn good chunk of the tooling, but I am tired of turning hand wheels and staring at dancing digital numbers. I have one client that has a BIG job coming up that needs a CNC so I want to have this done inside of a month to be ready to crank parts out for him.