587,790 active members*
3,998 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridgeport TC3 (DX-32) reverse home direction

Bridgeport TC3 (DX-32) reverse home direction

At present my Bridgeport TC3 with the DX-32 control always homes the table under the tool carrousel. I have a job that requires a very tall fixture and some long tools. Looking at the arrangement I'm sure homing under the carrousel will prove disastrous. I know I can set my clearance point at the far extreme so I'm fine on tool changes but when I home everything on power up it's going to drive the fixture into the tools. How can I reverse the homing direction and/or set new home point? I poked through the setup but didn't find what I need.

Hi Forhire

I am by no means an expert on CNC machines but, from an electrical/mechanical point of view I cant see how it would be done short of moving the home switches or trigger blocks. when the machine homes it has to go to a known physical point on the machine to take its reference. You might be able to start up then home the machine then park it at the far end of the table while you set up. Then machine. all the time keeping the machine on and homed.

Alastair

Quote Originally Posted by alastairseggie View Post
    I am by no means an expert on CNC machines but, from an electrical/mechanical point of view I cant see how it would be done short of moving the home switches or trigger blocks. when the machine homes it has to go to a known physical point on the machine to take its reference. You might be able to start up then home the machine then park it at the far end of the table while you set up. Then machine. all the time keeping the machine on and homed.