527,992 active members*
1,631 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    41

    Mach3 stopping occasionally

    My equipment consist of Grizzly 6x26 knee mill that was converted to CNC several years ago using Mach3 with 3 Nema 34 3.5 amp motors controlled by Gecko G540 running on a 48 volt transformer. Everything was working for years sometimes hours at a time cutting complex parts.

    Lately it has started acting up on me and by that I mean it will be moving along and all of a sudden it stops randomly, at least one of the motors stops turning.

    I can continue to jog but I have lost position and I have to start over. Things I have checked:

    Gibs readjusted and both X and Y slide freely, I thought it might be binding up but it never stops at the same place

    Installed all new shielded motor cables with a 3.5K resistor on each connector

    New shielded cable on each of the Home switches

    Operating on Windows7 with nothing else that I know of running, screen savers etc.

    Running at 25000 htz

    Motors tuned for a conservative speed, Velocity of 30 and Acceleration of 5 but nothing that I change seems to make a difference.

    It seems like it is getting a stray signal from somewhere that's causing a momentary hiccup that's driving me crazy.

    I am stumped and don't know what else to change or look for

    I am open to any and all ideas

    Thanks

    Jack

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5110

    Re: Mach3 stopping occasionally

    Is there anything else running on that computer? Was it optimized for Mach3? When I had problems like that, it turned out to be Windows Update, which interrupts everything to call home when it feels neglected.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    41

    Re: Mach3 stopping occasionally

    Thanks

    Years ago there was a list of things that could/should be turned off in windows but I haven't been able to find it. I did remove the latest security update but maybe I let one slip past me.
    This computer is not connected to the internet I had it connected to be able to try Fusion 360 but decided it was to difficult for me to learn so I got rid of it.

    Jack

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    41

    Re: Mach3 stopping occasionally

    Thanks for the Help

    This morning I went into Windows 7 and removed all of the security updates that had been installed. This computer which is only used to operate the CNC Mill is never connected to the internet, so I
    don't think that I need them anyway.

    I also turned OFF any items that weren't absolutely necessary for Win7 to function and now it seems to be working like it used to.

    I have had it running for several hours now, and so far not one hiccup or stall or stoppage of the motors.

    Time will tell if I fixed it, Thanks for the help!

    Jack

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3 - ESS smooth stepper - Huanyang Chinese VFD - Mach 3 e-stopping???
    By Chris D in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: 05-29-2019, 11:59 PM
  2. Possible issue with Mach3 Mill losing axis zero when stopping during arc moves
    By qbit in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2016, 04:43 PM
  3. the axis don't run smoothly, stopping Mach3 demo?
    By libas77 in forum CNC Wire Foam Cutter Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2014, 11:49 AM
  4. Mach3 Soft Limits -- Not Stopping
    By jsu1995 in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-27-2013, 11:24 PM
  5. Stopping Mach3 machining the table
    By shobley in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-01-2011, 12:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •